(Image from http://chesticoplace.com)
The community traces its history back to the early 1700s when it was largely settled by Highland Scots who, in the Gaelic language, referred to the area as Chestico. It is natural that the ocean has always played an important part in the life of the community. In early years ships from as far away as Halifax and Prince Edward Island called several times weekly at Port Hood with passengers and freight.
Stone from Port Hood Island, a 3 minute boat ride from the village, was transported by vessel between 1720 and 1740 to Louisbourg for construction of the now famous Fortress of Louisbourg.
With all this marine activity going on it became necessary to build a lighthouse. One was built in 1854 at a site south of the village. It provided guidance for sea-going traffic until 1938 when it was destroyed by fire. By that time harbour activity had tapered off considerably so a new lighthouse was not built.
The name chosen for our property, ‘Lighthouse Cottages’ is very appropriate as it designates a link to the past but it reminds us that there was indeed a golden age of sailing ships and Port Hood was an important part of it.
You can explore more of the local history at the Chestico Museum.